My 100th Happy Day

A while ago, I decided to take an Instagram photo challenge called #100happydays. In this challenge, I had to post a photo a day for 100 consecutive days that showed something that made me happy. Unlike other 30 day challenges that I flaked on, this one I stuck to.

I took photos of silly things, like coffee, and wonderful things, like my family and pets, but no day will ever compare to the last day of the challenge–my 100th happy day.

It was a Saturday–July 28th, four days after our third anniversary–and I woke up early to get ready, because Vince and I were heading to Louisville to see my parents, my brother, and his girlfriend for Louisville’s Derby City Comic Con. I was so excited! I woke up, checked my phone, and realized that I was a day late for my period. Now, this happens a lot. A day or two usually doesn’t mean anything, but Vince and I had been trying for a baby for six months. I lay in bed a moment and my heart started to race. I had a test in the bathroom. I thought, “I’ll take it, and when it’s negative, I’ll throw it away like all the others and won’t even mention it. I’ll take a shower and today will be a good day.” So, with shaking hands and feet (my body knew how nervous I was even if my brain refused to acknowledge it) I went and took the test.

Two minutes seemed to take two hours. Every test I’d taken so far had left me shaking and in tears, because they were negative. After every one, Vince had held me and told me it would happen in time and that he loved me. This time he was asleep and I was on my own.

My phone beeped. I walked to the sink where the test was. I stared. I stared some more. I looked at the box and at the stick with the funny little lines–the funny little plus sign that, for a few moments, didn’t register as meaning anything to me.

Then my brain caught up and my heart stuttered before it went wild, and I hugged my stomach and smiled and shook. Finally, after I’d calmed down a little, I went to get Vince. He was asleep, so I woke up him and said with a voice that shook, “There’s something in the bathroom you need to see.” I tell Vince he needs to come look at the kitties or Juno a lot, so he thought it was that. He stumbled in, still asleep, and said, “Is it Buddy? What is it?” So I pointed to the counter. I watched a similar state of confusion hit him. And then he understood, and I’ve never seen him smile so big. Together, we laughed and cried a little and realized we’re gonna be parents.

On my 100th happy day, I got the news that I was going to be a mom. And to top it off, we got to go to Louisville and share that news, in person, with my mom, dad, brother, and his girlfriend–my family and four of the most important people in my life.

I didn’t get to post this photo for my #100happydays challenge, because we wanted to wait until we were further along, but I did get to post a photo of my family on that day.

100happydays

That day–July 28th–will be a day that lives in my memory as one of my happiest days for a long, long time. Maybe when we meet Baby Frantz, that’ll change, but finding out that I was going to be a mom, and meet the baby I’d been praying for for years, is not a memory that’ll ever fade.

thefrantzbeeb

Leave a Reply

