1: Breathe: Yoga Teacher Training

This weekend was my first weekend of yoga teacher training. I went into day one feeling scared, nervous, and excited, and after just two days, I feel like a completely different person. I could spend hours sharing what my weekend was like, but there’s no way anything I could write would do the experience justice, so I’ll try and keep it simple.

Today I left YTT feeling so many things. I felt joyful, accomplished, excited for what I’d learned and what I will learn, peaceful, and sore. So very sore. We practiced asana (poses or postures), which was more challenging than I thought possible, as well as pranayama (breathing) and meditation. I learned so much about myself in the last two days–about my physical abilities and limitations as well as my mental and spiritual state. I met so many other amazing, beautiful students who were beginning the same journey as I was, and three of the most caring teachers I’ve ever encountered.

Image

Over the next six months, I want to make my practice not only a part of my life, but the part of my life that keeps me centered and keeps me grounded. I want to take the things I learn about yoga and be able to apply them to all aspects of my life.

This weekend I learned
to be stable in my core,
to accept who I am and where I am,
to be grateful,
to let my ego go,
to be present,
and to breathe.

Image

When I got home, I made myself a cup of tea. The tea bag said, When ego is lost, limit is lost. How beautifully, wonderfully appropriate.

I really could gush and gush and gush for pages and pages about this weekend, but instead, I’ll say this. This weekend I felt my life start to change. It wasn’t because I learned some really bendy, twisty, awesome-looking pose. It was because I learned to be happy where I am–in the moment I’m in, in the body I’m in–and, no matter what, to breathe.

Image

One thought on “1: Breathe: Yoga Teacher Training

Leave a Reply

